3/22/2014

A string of expletives was unleashed this morning as I realized I’d forgotten to post yesterday’s work. With much shame the ahlgrenart challenge suffers its first slip-up, two days before the six-month mark. I previously decided to take the weekends off but I’m posting today to make up for yesterday’s missing work, and to talk a bit about what I’ve been working on.

I didn’t neglect the core of the challenge, which is to create daily – in fact I was in experimental mode and full studio spirit, completely absorbed with a new material. If you haven’t figured out what these strange images are of, it’s wax: chaotic fluid forms frozen in cold water, translucent or inky, slick and organic.

1505591_10100392770931181_1571027996_n

Macro photos of the wax are unsettling, and that’s not just the glistening fleshlike translucency. The viewer gets a single close glimpse of a thing he cannot recognize, something slimy and strange just inches from his face.

IMG_3982

While making and photographing the wax forms, I’ve also been mirroring suitable photos for use in Emergence-style composites.

bright-one

This image sent me back to these character concept sculpts from January.

IMG_4030

 

Leave a Reply

